Quitter – Get the FREE Book Chapter (by Jon Acuff)

I did actually read the free chapter fully, its all fun.
You can get the free book chapter here. http://www.jonacuff.com/stuffchristianslike/2011/04/read-a-free-chapter-of-quitter

 

Here’s some of my favorite excerpts from the book…

 

The reason was that the content was dangerous. It was outside the norm of what is discussed within typical Christian circles.

Why? Because
dreams always make people nervous.
Dreams tend to challenge the status quo. They ask
questions like, “Why do we do things this way?” and then
assert, “Here is a better way.” No one ever says, “I have an
amazing dream that I am going to dedicate my life to. If it
works, the status quo will be solidified forever!”

But if you’re going to
chase your dream job, guess what? You will be dangerous.
You’re going to threaten the status quo, and that’s not for
the faint-hearted.

As a Christian, I was
well aware CNN was considered the devil’s news. What
if my Christian fans were super-conservative and hated
my association with CNN? What if churches that booked
me to speak found out and canceled my engagements? I
tend to be pretty conservative and saw it simply as a great
platform to share my ideas. But what if other people didn ’t
see it that way?

This isn ’t an idea I invented. Thousands of people have
written about the need and purpose of work in our lives.
Actor Ryan Gosling dealt with this after the success of
the movie The Notebook. To combat the sense of drifting
aimlessly, he got a job making sandwiches at a deli. When
asked about it in an interview he said, “The problem with
Hollywood is that nobody works. They have meals. They
go to Pilates. But it’s not enough. So they do drugs. If
everybody had a pile of rocks in their backyard and spent
every day moving them from one side of the yard to the
other, it would be a much happier place.”

Quitting a job doesn’t jump- start a dream because dreams take planning, purpose and progress to succeed.

